Out of State First Time Investor

15 Replies

Hello, I am just getting started and have located Memphis as a good cash flowing market. I am currently working with a realtor who is sending me properties in my target zip codes. However, I am an out of state investor and have never been to Memphis and know that the city can be very street to street with good and bad areas. My question is, how much trust should I put into my realtor. I can do my research as an area overall but without visiting it would be hard to tell if a specific area is good or not. My realtor seems very knowledgeable and has investment properties throughout. Would it be good to interview some property managers and get their opinions on certain areas to confirm good and bad spots?

Different people have different thresholds of "good" so it's generally good to get multiple viewpoints.  Also you can leverage crime mapping tools, and even have the agent drive an area with a Go Pro to give you an idea what the area is like.  The agent will probably assign that to a runner from the office but yeah.

There are tools for this.   

• City-data.com
  • zillow sales prices
  • google street view
  • Great schools
  • various crime stat aggregators

If you are going to buy a lot there, I highly recommend an in-person trip.

@Greg Scott @Ronald Allen Barney I have looked at some crime maps for the general area but may dig into specific areas more. I’d love to visit the area and feel like I should before I invest as well especially since this will be my first property. I will get multiple perspectives and opinions to confirm what I find to my realtor

I tend to use a video tours of the area, just driving or walking around to show the out of town investor exactly what it the area is like first hand.  its simple but really effective at providing information to the buyer.

@Zack Busch