Investing In New Jersey or Pennsylvania

23 Replies

Hey guys! I am new to real estate investing and am looking for my first property. I want to start out with a multifamily home. I currently live in Northern New Jersey and am deciding whether to invest here or out of state (possibly in the Harrisburg PA area). I see on the forums and hear on the podcasts that most investors recommend investing in your area at least for the first property. However, I am very worried about the tenant friendly laws that New Jersey has when it comes to eviction. Also I would be able to get a lot more bang for my buck in PA. My budget is about 300K. Does anyone have any advice on this topic? Thank you!

There are tons of us in Northern NJ who have repositioned to PA this year just because of inventory, taxes, and availability. We've closed 8 in Philly in our investor group and have 6 pending and a bunch more looking. We all still look in NJ, but PA, as a whole, has better metrics and it's easily driveable.

Hi @Sarah Lindberg , welcome to the wonderful world of real estate investing. How long have you lurked around the forums before finally posting? :) Regarding tenants, have you considered a property manager? It is an expense, but I consider it well worth the money. I don't have to deal with tenants at all. If you go that route I would make sure you interview the PM in order to see how they handled previous evictions. I'm paying roughly 7% of my rental income to my PM. There's a range, of course.

@Sarah Lindberg NJ is great place to invest.   If open to being creative a bit you can really win big with equity and finding properties that cash flow.  Regarding evictions and landlord laws I am over 6 years in (as a landlord)  without a single eviction or missed payment from my tenants, the laws may be a little wacky but with the correct system and processes most of the laws that give NJ a bad name can be avoided.