Is a part-time real estate agent possible?

39 Replies

Hi all! I've been reading and listening to podcasts pertaining to real estate agents and real estate investment. I plan on in January taking the real estate pre-licensing course. I am currently a nurse working 5 days a week so I will be taking a night class. I'm just trying to figure out when I begin working as an agent how to go about it. I am sole provider for my family at the moment so to go from a steady salary to commission is scary. Did any of you all start out part time doing this until you got the hang of things/had more money saved up? If this was a part time gig for some, did you find it hard to be available for clients because of your other job and what did you do? I eventually would like to be full time. Just wanted to hear from others who have been in a similar situation and how they handled it. Any advice is appreciated!

Hello. I am a part time agent. It’s possible. I work full time in radiology as a tech. I just spread the word that I do real estate on the side and primarily work with friends and coworkers. Maybe try to do 3 12s. So u have more time to network. Also, finding a broker that’s willing to let you pay as you make a sale instead of monthly fees. I had to teach myself everything though. A lot of YouTube and books and conversations with my broker. Good luck 

@Kayla Santangelo I got my license while working full time and left a high pressure, large time commitment job to do Real Estate full time. I am the only provider for my family of 5 as well.

I woke up at 4:30am for a very long time and worked 60-100 hours a week for 2+ years including working every weekend. Just now I’m slowing down and have agents under me. We are projecting to do 30 million next year with all of the business generated by me.

It can be done but it isn’t easy and you need to take the time from somewhere. It’s either going to be your family or your current job or you can sleep a lot less.