Contemplating Maryland RE License???

4 Replies

I was convinced by many experienced investors on this site to venture into getting my real estate license in Maryland.  For the past 5 weeks, 3 day a week I had to spend 4 hours each and every day in class, taking quizzes, and studying like a mad person.  Not too fun, but I passed the class!  I just completed my final exam today and I am waiting to get a response back from the test scheduler PSI to sit for the state exam.  

The questions I have for everyone is if you get your RE license do you believe that has helped your investment approach when it came to wholesaling, rehabbing, and landlording?  I have read a couple topics on the benefits here at BP, but I would like to hear specific recommendations and examples as to the pros and cons which apply to your past experiences and situations.  More specifically if I send out marketing material would I have to send it out saying I am a realtor?

Medium river capital logo whiteAnil Samuel MBA, River Capital Investing | [email protected] | 240‑449‑4118 | http://www.rivercapitalinvesting.com

you have to disclose no later than the first face-to-face meeting with a prospective client that you are a real estate agent.  If you hang your license with a broker, you are a real estate agent.  That means you must put it on your marketing materials. If i hang my license now and someone calls me off my mail campaign from the past 6 months, I need to get it out within the first few minutes that I'm a licensed agent.  Fiduciary duty. 

Medium logo jpegChristina R., r2investmentgroup, llc | 301‑960‑8020 | http://www.r2investmentgroup.com | MD Agent # 653692

I have mine, but it is expired (got a new job the day I passed the test, so never really had time to do much with it). I am actually going to take the required classes to reactivate it in the next few weeks.