Career as an Agent?

15 Replies

So I am graduating June of this year, and I am considering skipping college and getting my Realtor license and becoming an agent, but there are a few things I would like to ask.

1.) How difficult is it to break through in this career field? Especially with a person as young as I am.

2.) Is college a must? I know it is not required, but is it recommended?

3.) How much money can you truly make doing this?

I know it takes a lot of hard work to make a living in this field, especially starting out, but I am determined to do whatever it takes to achieve my goals I have set for myself. Thanks to anyone who replies.

@Account Closed  welcome to BP

1. I was a Realtor. The fees are pretty expensive. I know some Real Estate firms have much better training than others. I think Keller Williams has pretty good. I was on the fence whether I wanted to be a Realtor - or just try to invest in Real Estate. I thought having access to the MLS would let me find all these great deals. I did not find it much more useful than having access to Realtor.com. Although, Realtor.com has had to be more user friendly because of competition like Zillow.com/Trulia.

2.  College - I think this is more your personal experience/preference.

3.  I think the top Realtors make most of the money.  Probably top 20% make 80% of the money.

Being a Realtor did take away my excuse of not having MLS access was why I wasn't finding RE deals.

Maybe you could get your license and go to college same time full time/part time?

1) It is very difficult to start in real estate from scratch.

2.) College degree is not needed to be a real estate agent, but if you ever want to do "something else" then a college degree that supports that field will help. 

3.) Money made depends on your success, but expect 20-30K a year starting out.