what cost are associated with being a realtor

12 Replies

As a newbie I'm trying to find my nitch in real estate. In the mean time I am trying to learn as much as possible so my question if I get my license what are the cost of being a realtor. I understand there is marketing yourself and hopefully houses but what other cost are there and if I get my license in California what would the mls access look like is it just California?

Hi Joshua! I am sure an agent from CA can speak directly to specific costs in CA, but as a general rule of thumb, I would expect to pay a few thousand a year all in, especially the first year. MLS membership is relatively inexpensive (at least in Idaho) but there are association fees, license fees, key fees, brokerage fees, etc. It adds up,

Thank you I am also curious about the marketing cost and maybe what seems to work the best for new agents.

I'm curious if there is any inland empire or san diego county agents that can give me more detailed cost list to the first year of being an agent.

I am licensed in CO, but costs should be relatively similar. I wrote a post for the BP blog about this very topic.

There are lots of little costs you may not think about offhand. I tried to remember them all. Licensed in March 2014.

Hello @Joshua Swanger

I'm an agent in the Inland Empire. The only fee I pay is for access to the MLS. $96 quarterly. If you want to be designated as a Realtor, then you are looking at spending approximately $1000 per year for all necessary costs. Being a Realtor gives you access to online real estate forms which is honestly a must. If you want to market on Zillow you are looking at spending $250-500 per month depending on the area. Mailings might cost you $300 per run and you'll need to do 6-8 runs to start seeing results. I hope that helped!

@Joshua Swanger