Should I...?

5 Replies

So as i discussed briefly in my profile i am a newbie. I do have quite a bit of knowledge on real estate because Im so passionate about it that i consume myself with books and podcasts. Starting off in real estate I am primarily focusing on wholesaling in my local area (Lincoln Nebraska and potentially into Omaha as well) to start building my capitol at which point I plan to scale this up in a big way. Throughout the podcast I've listened to it seemed like the consensus was to not get my real estate license because it would just make things more difficult to do what I am planning to do, however after listening to the biggerpockets podcasts Im no longer so sure. So my question is as a real estate investor in NE will it benefit me to get my realtor license or will it only make things more difficult? And if I should get my license, then should I get a salesperson license where I would need to be under a brokers supervision or should I get a broker license? I can wait to get everyones feedback on this. Thank you biggerpockets for this amazing community to be able to reach out for help. This is exactly what I needed to find right now.

Getting a license, makes it easier to get access to the MLS which is vital. When you talk to potential retail sellers, you just disclose to them that you are a realtor AND an investor who looks to buy and hold and flip properties for profit.

I am not a realtor, but I work with many of them. Access to the MLS through the realtors is how I do it. If they want to move a property to me, they have to provide qualifying comps.

I am also part of a large investment group that is forming a database similar to the MLS.

My business partner is thinking about getting his license, and I'm not opposed to getting mine. I just don't have an urgent need at the moment.

@Curtis Hiner