Handling listings in addition to a 40 hour/week job

20 Replies

Maybe BP isn't necessarily the place for this... I'm a licensed agent but I don't really do much with license. I want to become more involved and try to market for some listings and was wondering if anyone has some good tips for juggling listings and a 40 hr/week job. Just starting to brainstorm and I'm fully aware that some full time agents aren't fans of the part-time agent....so I'm sorry in advance to you folks :-)

I'm a w2 guy as well, and working towards getting my license. 

Following.....

It all depends what your full time job is- Can you answer calls?  Respond to emails?  Leave at lunch to show a house?  Meet an inspector in the middle of the afternoon?  Handle last minute problems the day of closing?  Respond to negotiations from another agent in a timely fashion?

In my experience, part time agents work mostly for buyers.  They may occasionally list a house for a friend or family member.

Imagine you are a seller- You interview 3 agents to list your home.  1 is a full time agent who dedicates 100% of their work week (and weekends) to selling real estate.  1 is a full time agent with another part time job. And 1 is a part time agent with another full time job.  Who do you hire?

Even though @Geoffrey Hoffman spells his name wrong, he makes some good points. :)

Would really need to know how flexible your job to give you the best answer. Anything you can systematize would help-scheduling showings, showing feedback etc.

I would suggest you co-list the first couple of deals with a full time agent. That way you can see more first hand what's involved to learn and also have backup for when you are working your job.

Hope that helps and I was just kidding Geoff!