• Investor/Agent
  • Oakland County, MI
Votes |
Question for those who Wholesale or Assign

Alexis Miranda
  • Investor/Agent
  • Oakland County, MI
Posted Oct 28 2016, 11:23

My question is, how do you intertwine  your two businesses or do you only focus on one?

As a fellow realtor my general focus is investing. I have discussed with fellow agents about putting my license in holding but have yet to make a decision. Thought I would keep it for a while and see if it helps me first. Then, I will decide. Plus it is good in case someone I know needs to sell or buy a new home. 

So I guess what I am really asking is, how do you deal with both the businesses? How does it help you in wholesaling, and what are the true benefits of working as an agent and investor? Maybe this can help me make a decision.

User Stats

Votes
Gabriel Amedee
  • Investor
  • Miami, FL
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Miami, FL
Replied Oct 30 2016, 09:30

I personally do not have a license but my partner holds one and is an agent for a brokerage. We have a separate LLC where we can utilize the MLS to get records on homes as well as comparable sales. Also helps identify if the home being brought to us is on the MLS or has been in the past, a big indicator of motivation of the seller.

When we do meet up with a seller to discuss contract details, my partner must and does disclose that he holds a license but is not representing anyone during this purchase and is solely a buyer in this transaction. I typically go alone to execute the contract when we get the feeling that the certain seller has an illogical hate for realtors, which happens to be many FSBO's here in Miami.