Part-time Real Estate Agent

9 Replies

Hello, I am new to RE investing and Bigger Pockets.

Currently I am a senior at Howard University School of Architecture in DC. I will graduate in May 2017 and my career goal is to become a residential developer of both single-family and multi-family.

I am looking at how I can raise capital for my first deal(s). I intend to work full-time after graduation but I am also considering working as a real estate agent on nights and weekends.

My question is about working hours. Can I successfully work nights and weekends as an agent? I'm looking to at least raise the down payment for an FHA backed duplex from working as a part-time real estate agent. Thoughts?

Thanks!

@Sid Siddig I think anything is possible if you commit to making it work. Maybe if you limit the number clients you work with, or only provide referral leads to other agents.

I think if I had only nights and weekends to spare I would partner up with another agent who has the time to work with the leads you generate. Then the two of you could negotiate a referral fee amount. 

most closings are going to be during the day time so if you are needed at the closing table you will be working a few hours during the day. weekends are when most open houses are done.  its super rare that r.e. agents work at night unless you mean working in the office and putting things together for your client(s). If you get off work at 4pm and want to get into real estate work around 4:30 to 7pm that would be up to your broker.  Its not like you will be showing homes hours after sun down.  my coin.

Kudos,

Mary

@Brandon L. That is a good point about partnering up with another agent.

@Mary B. That is good to know. Perhaps I'll need to work 4 days a week to free up one business day for closing deals and such.