Start Real Estate Full Time and Quit My Job?

29 Replies

I wanted to reach out to everyone in this forum for some advice. A little background on me is that I am a self taught software programmer and have been doing it for over 4 years. However, over the past year I've realized that I just don't have a passion for it and the only reason I'm still in it is because it pays well. However, I'm very passionate about real estate, I've passed my exam and I am currently talking with different real estate agencies. I've now come to the point where I have to make a decision: go full time RE and quit my job or have to work my current job while trying make PT RE work.

Has anyone else quit their job and just jumped straight into RE?

Or did you first try to do it part time before making the jump? 

I'd love to hear anyones feedback on part time vs full time!

Thanks!

Start part time. You don't want to burn the bridge prior to investigating the other side. I am doing this right now currently still working my 9-5. I wouldn't recommend quitting your current job until you know you can support yourself through being an agent.

Hi Josh, 

I'm in a similar boat, I got my RE license back in April, and have been doing part time RE while working my full time accounting job. I've done some deals, but overall I find it difficult to switch from one role to the other. I have a hard time making and taking calls during the working hours as I am still in the head space of accounting at that time. I've also found that it's hard to spend the time marketing myself properly, and I felt like I was doing two jobs in a mediocre way. I'm also considering making the jump so I'd also like to hear what others have done. Good luck to you Josh! 

Best, 

Chris

Hey Josh,

I just recently left my job to start RE full time and it's definitely a stressful and challenging transition.