Real estate agent at 18

92 Replies

Hey, I am currently a 16 year old sophomore in high school. My passion is real estate, I buy books on investing, watch youtube videos about it all day, got a job at McDonald’s to learn how to interact with people better, and I follow all the real estate guys I look up to like, Grant Cardone. My question is, do you think it would be a good idea to start selling real estate right out of high school. My parents don’t, but I know that I will be able to learn everything college can teach me, but without a degree. Do any of you have any advice to going into real estate. Do you think I could get hired as a real estate agent at 18 if I am 100% committed. And what what your journey to getting into to real estate and how has it worked out so far for you?

@Jordan Lucas Hi jordan, yes you can be a real estate at age 18 but i suggest you maintain a decent/well paying full timeish job (30-40 hrs) until youre up off your feet as there are a lot of expenses to being an agent and you dont always have clients immediately. It is definitely possible as long as you are self motivated and work hard!

@Suny Capezzuto thanks Sunny, I appreciate the advice and will definitely look out, as time comes closer to me turning 18, for a better paying job. How was your first year like as an agent ?

@Jordan Lucas I just got licensed last week 😉 i never wanted to be an agent until i realized some of the benefits its provided me. i do already have clients but i had them before i finished classes as i know them personally. networking is key! but thank god for my full time job, already: $2k in classes, $500 realtor association fee, $350 mls fee, expenses to huy business clothes, $50 business cards, monthly brokerage fee which i dont actually have to pay yet but you get the point. it adds up!

@Jordan Lucas thank you! i wish you the best as well. feel free to reach out if you ever need help.