Building a team of Agents / Investors?

4 Replies

I am a real estate agent and investor. I invest in NH and help clients buy properties in MA. I find it easy to connect with investor clients since I invest too and we can talk shop. I’m thinking about building a real estate team where all my agents need to be investors or need to become an investor within 1 year. This feels like a great idea since it’s already working for me and while there are some great agents out there I feel Investor’s as a whole are under serviced in the industry.

Thoughts? Is this a good idea? Are there things I need to be careful of when going down this path?

Thanks in advance for any feedback!

@Jonathan Bombaci

Good luck . As a business owner , I've found the best motivator especially in the real estate industry is sales opportunities. Forcing people to become investors, who may turn out not to like it or are bad at it is a recipe for disaster.  I better idea is to build a team of agents who understand the investor mentality and who can build a client list of repeat customers. Just because something is working for you does not mean it will work for them.

Realtors are a fickle bunch and will leave you if something goes wrong or they feel pushed into an uncomfortable area.

The last bit of advice , agents are independent contractors and requiring them to be investors may pierce the independent contractor viel and open you up to being an employer at the least and a investment advisor at worst and not a team leader.

Thanks for the feedback @Brian Van Pelt I do understand the independent contractors issue and will need to be intentional about that. The fact is it’s an interview to get onto the team if we focus on investors and my clients want experienced agents I feel like it’s either a fit or it’s not.

I definitely appreciate the feedback and I’ll keep your words in mind.