• Chicago, IL
Votes |
Can I use listing info and photo on my website to send referrals

James O.
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Chicago, IL
Posted Nov 6 2019, 20:51

Hi,

I am a licensed as an agent in CA. I happen to have several clients/friends that are looking to to Dallas and Phoenix (I lived in both cities before so know the area well). They asked me help them find a house in a good area and refer them to an agent I trust to do the representation. If I was licensed in TX, I would have no problem with this. But I am looking to display listing info/photos from MLS on my personal business website for my clients to stay update with. Would MLS care if I do so? After all, I merely sending referrals to agents in the area.

User Stats

Votes
Lucia Rushton
  • Realtor
  • Dallas - Fort Worth Metroplex, Tx
Votes |
  • Realtor
  • Dallas - Fort Worth Metroplex, Tx
Replied Nov 7 2019, 06:44

@James O. Hi James, I don’t know the legalities but I have heard that people get in trouble for posting deals that are not theirs. So perhaps it depends on how you present them.

If you would like assistance in Dallas, I would be delighted to help. I can also provide references from BP members. Cheers

User Stats

Votes
Kristin Kiddy
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Ormond Beach, FL
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Ormond Beach, FL
Replied Nov 7 2019, 06:59

To post MLS listings you need IDX approval from the association. Gets pretty technical and the best place to get info is from the association. There are also legal issues for using other agents' listings in your advertising. Be careful.

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Mike Cumbie
  • REALTOR®
  • Brockport, NY
Votes |
  • REALTOR®
  • Brockport, NY
ModeratorReplied Nov 7 2019, 07:25

Hi @James O.