Posting FSBO's on MLS for a flat fee

11 Replies

I am a realtor, and I am looking to offer For sale/For rent by owners the opportunity to have their listings posted on the MLS for a small flat fee. I know we're trying to win over the listing in this situation, but when all else fails, I think this could be a way to still generate business. I'd love to hear from brokers and other realtors that have had experience with this. Would I have to pay a split with my broker when doing this? Any other important details to know would be greatly appreciated!

This is something you need to run by your Broker as not all permit 'limited service' options! You also want to be careful not to devalue your services by offering something generally reserved for discounted Brokers., if, I'm assuming, you are a full service Realtor (i.e., there are plenty of options for FSBOs to pay to list in MLS). There are many other ways to approach a FSBO... meeting them, touring the property & offering advice, building rapport, bringing buyers to see the property, etc. Best of luck!

You can't do anything on the MLS without your brokerage's cooperation and a fee going with them. Also, what's the upside for them? They didn't hire a realtor for a reason and they know they will get less views. It's very unlikely that your brokerage would allow this and it could be illegal if you are not working for a specialized firm that offers limited representation MLS access. Most FSBOs don't want the foot traffic or realtor involvement so there isn't much here that will help them. It will just create more annoyances for them.

Well, the upside would be that they would be increasing the exposure of their listing without hiring a realtor for a small fee. If the reason they didn't hire a realtor is because they simply didn't want to pay commissions, then this would be a huge benefit. Appreciate the insight about "limited representation' and that I can't do anything on the MLS without my brokerage's cooperation/fee.