How to politely reject a contractor?

30 Replies

He came on site to give me a quote the other day, which is much higher than others'. He called and texted me several times asking whether I would accepted his quote today. I don't want to give him any hard feeling, so want to know how you would reply to reject a contractor's bid?

just tell him what happened. You were able to get it done for cheaper. Also tell him you are open to working with him in the future. Sometimes you get the best performance from contractors when they know you have other options

I am a painting contractor , and I get turned for somebody getting a lower bid which is no problem we are use to it . So do not feel bad . This is business !! I am impressed he is following you up with you . I would say be cautious of getting the lowest bid . I am not saying all low bids are horrible . But remember value is the most important . What are you getting for your $$$ ?

Best luck on the project

Thanks for the replies. He offers to do part of the job at a fraction of price.

Also, he said he would be around to check out how well the job would be done. I am so afraid he is going to bother my chosen contractor while they are working.

@Michael Stole

He was probably just posturing. However, if he does any of those things, it will just reinforce your decision not to use him.

In addition, he would have no reason to come on the premises if he is not doing work for you, so, if he steps out of line, you can just ask him to leave.

Thanks, Roy.

Also, for those general contractors, I think they are going to give me a high bid. Should I inform them in advance what I got on bid so if they would give me a high bid, they don't have to waste their time? I think this can save their time on preparing a bid, but not sure if it is proper. Any advice?