What you hate about contractors..

9 Replies

Hi everybody, I am a contractor and I am very curious what most of you feel about contractors. What do you like about us and what drives you crazy. If in a perfect world what would that contractor be? 

Reason I am asking this is because I am the other side of renovation and I want to know how I can be a better contractor to work with and if I am also do things people hate. 

If would be very helpful if you BPs can list them and even get into details 

Thanks, Steve

I think there is huge opportunity for contractors to hit their commitments on schedule and budget.  Some of the most successful contractors and subs I've worked with hit their schedule commits and run a tight ship when it comes to managing their crews.  

I am also a Contractor, Based on my mistakes and stories I have heard I know a few. My geuss is if you are starting this conversation you are leaps and bounds ahead of the nightmare contractor. 

Missing pre set deadlines(time is$$)

poor communication

leaving homes set once you get starter check.

Taking on more then you can handle in one month ( guilty- know your capacity)

Bad subs-bad can be bad as a person, bad at showing up on time, bad at respecting the property and neighbors. .ect. ( i always ask myself would i send tgem to my gmas)

bidding low to get the job, then charging more. 

inacurrate and not being thurough when bidding. 

Saying yes when you should say no. (guilty)

taking a deposit or draw and running to vegas

Sharing rental package with other investors. some buy and hold guys have a look  they dont want you doing their look for your other clients. As it is what sets them apart.  

Taking 4 months to do a 30 day reno

I am sure I could go on and on but that is a good start. 

This post has been removed.

I just purchased a house in a small city near Niagara Falls.  It was a 3/1 and I wanted to add a 1/2 bath on the first floor.  I called every plumber in my area and: