1031 exchange to buy mobile home park?

11 Replies

Hi!

I am selling land/lot at $197, 500 within 60 days. Someone told me that Mobile home park is good profit with low investment. I am new to MHP investing. I have to make decision before I close my deal for 1031 exchange, if I can.

1) Is this a good investment?

2) Can I do 1031 exchange to buy MHP?

3) If I can, I still have to get a loan of about $93K to match 1031.

4) If I buy HMP at $197,500, what does the cash flow look like?

Thank you for your help!

I don't think even a mobile home park maverick could answer your questions. Mobile home parks trade on cap rates and those vary from area to area. Also, they can be very cash intensive properties if you the wrong one. If you're even considering investing in MHP, I highly recommend you attend Dave & Franks bootcamp through mobilehomeparkstore.com

Account Closed , thank you for quick reply!

Yes, Mobile Home Parks can qualify for 1031 Exchange treatment as long as what you are buying is classified as real estate.

Medium exeter 1031 clr cntr bBill Exeter, Exeter 1031 Exchange Services, LLC | [email protected] | (619) 239‑3091 | http://www.Exeter1031.com

Thanks @Bill Exeter ! Can I buy MHP as a joint venture with another partner?

It will depend on how you structure it. It will qualify if you acquire it as tenants-in-common, but it will generally not qualify if you acquire it as a partnership. Joint Ventures can appear to be a partnership - even if they are not - so you must be careful how you structure them and operate them, etc.

Medium exeter 1031 clr cntr bBill Exeter, Exeter 1031 Exchange Services, LLC | [email protected] | (619) 239‑3091 | http://www.Exeter1031.com

Thank you, I appreciate it!!

@Young Fenton , I recommend you engage with someone who has mobile home park experience prior to investing. MHPs are a unique type of real estate investment and you'll be working under tight time restrictions with a 1031 exchange. Good luck!