Bought a few for rentals

6 Replies

Hey everyone, I just bought 2 mobile homes to use as rentals in my area.  It will be a little while before they are ready to be rented out.  Obviously mobile homes don't necessarily attract the best of tenants either.  I am just starting out again after 12 yrs of not having any rentals.  What the best way to move forward as in lease agreements or not, pre-screening, credit check and backgrounds.  

Years ago I had bought a book that had all the landlord tenant laws in it for the state I was in at the time.  Not sure if they have one now for where I am either.  I have an email into a local attorney I have done business with to get his suggestions as well.

Suggestions?

Thank You.

Mark

Hey Mark,

Below are a few resources that may prove useful. 

You must make sure you become familiar with the SD laws and requirements and be sure you have the correct forms. The SDMA should prove to be a good place to start, though you  will have to pay the membership fee. 

I would also suggest you search Amazon.com for a book or two on landlording. 

Best wishes for profitable and smooth landlording. 

http://www.sdmha.com/

http://portal.hud.gov/hudportal/HUD?src=/states/so...

http://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/overview-la...

Regards,

Kevin M

It would also be a good idea to take a trip to your local courthouse and visit the eviction office (aka "landlord-tenant") in your area to meet the staff and find out about the process face-to-face. Many times, their forms will only be available at the office. Best of luck! 

As far as screening, I require all of my applicants to supply a background check which they get through the local police dept, fill out an application and show their last month worth of pay stubs. My older tenants always stay longer.

770‑289‑1516 | GA Agent # 367158

Hi Mark,