55+ mafia or dentist nightmare, take your pick

14 Replies

I am a newbie mobile home investor.  i have been building my buyer list and working on calls to sellers about units for sale and practicing my questions to sellers.  Here in Clearwater St Pete area there are many 55+ communities that i am trying to avoid due to a limited demographic to sell to.  The all ages park in the area are not what i would want my family to live in, i am working on finding quality in those parks but having little to no luck.  

So last night found a great looking home, floors redone, roof, central air, park owned listed $3000.  Being cautions i called the park and spoke with the manager regarding the park and me not living in the property.  No problem, just fill out application and credit check.

arrived to the park today for an application and to put a face to the name. i got there around lunch and spoke with the manager who listed the property.  Asked a list of questions and also explained how i would be purchasing the MH not to live in but use as an investment to receive payments from a "park qualified" tenant.  

Next thing i know a guy from the back comes storming out and says "listen, we dont do any rent to own tenant investor things.  Its bad news.  we have had them in the past and we get shafted every time, so get out of here!" said grumpy owner to me as if i was pan handling in a department store.