Which comes first financing or securing property?

11 Replies

HI Everyone!

I am a real newbie here and with investing. I have a lot read a lot in mobile home parks and will be investing in one or more within the next year. My question is at this point is-- should I secure financing first or should I be narrowing down the parks I am interested in? I spoke with a residential broker who suggested  I get a loan first and go park shopping after. Any thoughts or comments would be greatly appreciated.

Regards 

Jena

It's really something you want to be doing together. Start looking for deals and make it known that you are looking for financing. If the deal is good enough, the money will come. If you found an amazing deal tomorrow then I can assure you that you wouldn't have too much trouble finding financing. You could very likely find it right here in the forums! Just securing financing won't get you anywhere if there is no deal though, so for me finding the financing too prematurely isn't a good use of my time. This is another newbie's opinion though, so take it for what it's worth. ;-)

Have a great day!

Standard MHP Due Diligence periods are 30 to 60 days, more than enough time to secure financing.  Also depending on the geography you're targeting and the materiality of the loan you need the source of your financing may not be known today.  Most Parks needing < $500K loans will need to be sourced through a local bank or private money, whereas larger ones can be obtained through MHP speciality type lending brokers nationally.

Would suggest that you read the MHU Due Diligence Manual if you have not already - it covers a lot of these items and will give you much better guidance than a residential broker.

Promotion
Vacasa
Vacation Rental Property Management
We do the work. You get the ROI.
We do it all for your vacation rental. All—marketing, pricing, guest requests, housekeeping & more.
Free income estimate