Getting work done on a house which was empty for months and I bought!

9 Replies

Hi,

I could not find the right category for my question and therefore landed it under buying/selling.

However, this is a property that I recently bought and now need to ready it up.

It was vacant for couple of months as I am told. Want to hold this property. Planning to get all the following done.

1. Floor replacement from carpet to wood in living /kitchen and replacing carpet in bedrooms.

2. Complete paint inside the house.

3. Kitchen small changes around kitchen. Remoing an extended area of cabinets and tidying it up and replace all appliances.

4. Check water/electricity and see if it requires any work.

My dilemma is which one to start on first and then follow up on next task?

If I give it out to One GC, what are the things I "should & must" include as part of agreement?

Advise/help appreciated.

Hi @Naveen Desai

I am new to investing, but I probably wouldn't hire a GC for this small of a remodel (I'm sure someone will chime in if I'm wrong). Most of what you are doing is cosmetic. Personally, I think you can get better prices by getting multiple bids yourself. Just make sure you get referrals and check references on the contractors you use. I also wouldn't pay until the job is complete.