Is this a scam?

9 Replies

Hello my fellow BP members

I have been reaching out for a Hard Money Loan, i talked to several so called "lenders" and after speaking to so many its almost like i can predict the enitre conversation from the beginning to when i say "you must be crazy have a good day"...

Im not experienced in HMLs at all so im asking because maybe its me, but the conversations always starts great, they throw out a bunch of awesome sounding senerios, they do a keep evaluation of the property, they say they love the deal. They we talk rates, which also sound good to me. Then after 20 mins of that they all end with. "OK EVERYTHING LOOKS GOOD ONE NOW ALL YOU NEED TO DO IS PAY THE $500 TO ORDER THE APPRAISAL"..

It wont be refunded if the appraisal comes back less than 65%...HUH?

This has got to be a scam or is this normally how hard money works?

Feel free to scold me BP i need it...LOL

@Jason Farmer I have not done hml, but if you do a bank loan you pay for the appraisal under the same conditions. You can't expect someone else to pay to prove the value of your property if you want them to lend to you.

Of course you want to check them out, but if you don't pay for an appraisal you won't get the loan.

$375 appraisal fee for the HML I used to use. Who is supposed to pay for it, them? It's your deal and you want them to fund it. Are they suppose to take your word that the value is there?

call Craig over at The Norris Group in Riverside. Very reputable. But you're still going to pay an appraisal fee.

I have experience trying to borrow money from hard money lenders and have been defrauded 4 times. The companies say they will do the loan, require that you pay up front fees, and then don't do the loan. I did finally get a $750,000 hard money loan from the Land Group in California. Try to stay away from hard money loans as much as possible.