Private Money Lender on potential flip.

9 Replies

Hello everyone.

I have a potential flip in a desirable area. It is a Freddie Mac owned property in a town about 20minutes away. I have seen the property, run the numbers, and see it as a very good investment.

1940 Colonial, 1200sqft living space. 2 (Possibly 3) Bedroom, 1 Bath. Partially finished basement. very large kitchen, with patio, porch, 2 stall heated and wired garage.

Repairs:

Needs a roof, replacement cabinet doors, some wood trim, new appliances, and a new kitchen floor.

Asking price: 185,500

ARV: 230,000

Estimated offer 155,000

Here is my dilemma. I am a firefighter/paramedic and I am forced to live in the town I work in, therefore owner/occupant is out of the question. I only have enough cash for about 10% and it requires 20% as an investment property. Does anyone know of any ways around this? Or possible ways of finding private money lenders? Any tips are very appreciated.

Hello Sean,

Have you talked to any Hard Money lenders? I have the names of a couple that I would gladly connect you with. Send me a message if you are interested.

541-543-8262

Calling @Ann Bellamy , who loans on flips in your area.

Borrowing for a flip using conventional financing and claiming you're an owner occupant is mortgage fraud, @Sean Connolly . I don't think you want to get started on that foot.

It's clear you're new at this because you specified the repairs (and lists like this are almost always incomplete), but you didn't specify the costs. If you add your desired purchase price to the repairs and divide that total by the ARV, you normally don't want the number to be greater than 70%. In your case, this would leave $6k for repairs: ($230k x 70%)-$155k = $6k. Do you think that's realistic? True, this is just a rule of thumb, and more experienced rehabbers can push the percent a little, but it's a formula that works.