Solid credit, but it's reducing with each deal

12 Replies

I started out with a credit score of 790 when I bought my first rental. In 3 years, I've acquired 4 more, and my credit has dipped with each loan, and is now at 710. I have no debt except for these loans, and no credit card balance except for what what is used and paid off each month. Does anyone have any tips or strategies for how to boost and maintain my credit score in order to get me to 10 rentals? I could pay them down, but I'd rather keep the loans as I don't think I'll be able to get money that cheaply in the future.

If you pay your CC in full each month, your score really should be better than 710. There has to be a different reason

I've been paying it in full each month for the last 10 years. I think the main problem is these loans have all been created fairly recently, and reduced the overall age of my open accounts. I think this is partially due to me being averse to getting into debt when I was younger, so I don't have to many old accounts.

That does not sounds right... your credit score would have dipped a few points each time you obtained a loan application but if you are paying off CC and mortgages (major trade line) there should be no reason for an 80 point drop. Have you obtained a recent credit report to compare with the report when your score was 790 to identify if there are any errors or new items outside of the mortgages?

I have pulled my score from all 3, and I think I found my mistake. WithTrans Union , my score is significantly lower, but an average of all 3 is around 745. It still isn't great to watch it decline. Any tips on keeping it up?

@Luke M.