Property off-limits to investors?

5 Replies

Hey everyone, I am new to BP and REI and I am still in the process of filling out my profile (88%). I didn't intend to start asking questions until that was done and introduced myself properly, but I ran into something today I thought someone could help me out with quick.

I am very interested in a property that I have been out to take a look at, but it was on Sunday and an agent wasn't available to let me in. I've been trying to get a hold of an agent to show the place since then (two days ago). I spoke with an agent today, but he told me it wasn't available to investors for some reason. I think he said it was a Freddie Mac regulation of some kind. I told him I was coming in with all cash, but he still told me it had to be my primary residence and I couldn't resell it for a year. I was a bit caught off guard at that point, but he didn't have any ideas for me on how to get around that. I wanted to check if the agent was crazy or if this is a common thing that I will be encountering as I continue my search for deals. What is this all about? Is my money not green enough?

Thanks a bunch for your help! I'm sure this is an easy one for all you gurus out there.

Did he say it was permanently off limits or just right now? Freddie Mac and Fannie Mae have something called a "first look" period where the houses are only available to people planning on buying the home for their primary residence. If you look on their website (homesteps.com or homepath.com) and find the property, it will tell you how many days there are left on the first look period.

I haven't personally done this, but I've read about people making offers the day before the restriction is lifted and having them accepted.