What happens when buyer files for bankruptcy???

7 Replies

Been trying to do some research on this specific topic and I've had no luck finding any answers.  If anyone has any information or incite on this i would greatly appreciate the help.

What happens to the investment group when a buyer files for bankruptcy???

Like... What happens to funds?  (money owed), how long do funds get tied up for? does this even effect the investment group? or does this cause any problems for the investment group?

Thank you ahead of time to anyone who has any information to share.  

What's the relationship between the "investment group" and the buyer?

Originally posted by @Jon Holdman:

What's the relationship between the "investment group" and the buyer?

No relationship.   Just a flip.  maybe investment group is the wrong term.  as a business to buyer sense.  i apologize i'm very new to this.

So let me guess, because you aren't telling things clearly.  Somebody you call a buyer bought a property, and you were part of an investing group that funded the purchase or renovations of that property.  And now that buyer is in bankruptcy.  Is that an accurate summary of the situation?

Originally posted by @Steve Babiak:

So let me guess, because you aren't telling things clearly.  Somebody you call a buyer bought a property, and you were part of an investing group that funded the purchase or renovations of that property.  And now that buyer is in bankruptcy.  Is that an accurate summary of the situation?