Best way to leverage paid off properties

19 Replies

Hi,

I've been buying and holding my rentals for 6 years now (mostly duplexes) and have poured money into paying them down and off.  Currently have 4 out of my 8 paid off.  I want to purchase more and maybe get into something bigger like 4 plexes.   My question is how best to leverage my props?  I don't have much saved up for a down because I've been throwing cash at the mortgages.  Any advice?  

I would do a heloc and stop paying off your properties. This should let money rejuvenate  and add up fast to pay off your property

Why can't you refinance them?  Did I miss something?

Home equity line of credit (HELOC)

A second mortgage with a revolving balance, like a credit card, with an interest rate that varies with the prime rate. Pronounced HE-lock.

Medium mogul logo web smallPeter MacKercher, Mogul Realty | [email protected] | 314.210.4414 | http://stlmogul.com | MO Agent # 2010004223

Borrowing money on your seasoned property is probably going to be your easiest source of decent loans.  Selling one or two and getting a bigger property would be another option.

Easy answer. Get a line of credit and never, ever, pay off a mortgage.

Imagine earning 40-80%...or even 100-200% return because you have so little in each property. Pay them off and suddenly earn 10%.... Easy answer.

This is what we did to grow our portfolio.  We bought with cash and then did the rehab.  We sought out the loans after placing a tenant.  We used portfolio lenders at local banks.  It was slow at first because we would only get 80% of what we had in the properties, but after a few, we could get 85% of the current agreed upon value without an appraisal.  Emails with pictures and we closed within two weeks.