Partnership with step-father (doctor), I'm a realtor and husband is a contractor.

16 Replies

Here's the scenario. I have some experience with real estate investing (1 foreclosed residential home purchased through a wholesaler in San Antonio, TX, full rehab, rented it for a year, sold it making a $26,000 cash profit). I've been a member of local REIA's, and took many courses in real estate investing ( I am familiar with creative financing, 1031 exchange, capital gains tax, 70% rule-of-thumb...how to find the good deals etc--- I'd like to learn as much as I can, unfortunately we do not have any active REIA's in mu area). Recently, I received my real estate license for a leg-up: access to MLS, Realtors Association and for networking purposes. My husband is a general contractor and can pretty much build a house from ground up with his crew. My step-dad is a doctor who has a pretty penny invested in stocks, mutual funds, IRA's etc. He pays A LOT of $ in taxes every year. He is more interested in being a passive RE investor and wants to use both mine and my husband's skills and expertise to start investing in Real Estate.

Questions I have:

1. I know how to find the deals, my husband can do the rehabs, and my step-dad funds the deals.  Any suggestions on how we can put these deals together so that it is a win-win for all involved?  I know that seeing a tax attorney and accountant is top-priority, but my concern is ensuring that my step-dad (who has little knowledge when it comes to real estate investing), understands what it means to be a passive investor and what he should expect as far as taxes go.  What can me and my husband expect for tax breaks?  If we're doing all the work