How to find deals?

7 Replies

Hi, I am very new to real estate. I just wanted to know how some of you find deals and what strategies and tools do you use to evaluate the deal? 

Several people take part in several different strategies. There is wholesaling, foreclosures, listed properties, off market deals and on and on and on. At Jason Cohen Pittsburgh we implement a variety of approaches. Truth is though, the more you follow the sheep the less you will differentiate yourself. If everyone is buying on the one street, we recommend you buy on the next one. Make sense? There is no secrets. Don't follow the herd. Pound the pavement, knock on doors, look for dilapidated properties and so on. Find out who owns them and negotiate a deal. Education will be your savior. To learn more feel free to reach out to us at www.jasoncohenpittsburgh.net

There are entire classes and books written to answer this question.  One strategy is to look at foreclosures and short sales.  This is one area to find good deals.  Not all foreclosures or short sales are great deals.  If you are searching bank owned homes and short sales, you will need to find a real estate agent that understands real estate investing.  Most real estate agents have no clue when it comes to investment properties.

I have created my own spreadsheets to analyze properties, however there are lots of software and calculators to help you.  You will want to learn about cap rate, cash flow, return on investment, and cash on cash return.

@Account Closed  what type of deals are you looking for? different property types have different strategies, especially in northern nj