Duplex Purchase

1 Reply

Hi,

I'm fairly new to this and have decided to buy my 2nd rental property a Duplex for $70k in upstate SC.

I am paying cash that i made on a prior flip, income is around $1150 per month, the property needs about $10-12k in repairs, taxes are around $2k per year, management fees @ 10%

Its a brick duplex 3/1.5 on one side and 2/1 on the other in a class B area..

Does this sound like a worthy deal??

Please help reassure me.  Cheers!

David,

There's a few numbers that are missing that really need to be considered if you want to know if it's a solid deal.  

For simplicity, I would suggest using the BP deal analysis tool unless you have something else built to help you understand what numbers you NEED to look at before you KNOW you have a good deal.

I will say that initially the numbers that you provided do have potential, but without the rest of the picture It's hard to say.  I would encourage you to track down the information and look at the numbers for yourself.  If you need help, ask!

Here are just a few of the other variables I consider when I look at a deal:

-Insurance costs

-Loan considerations (i.e. length, rate, and downpayment) - to figure your cost of money variable

-Will you get a secondary (hard money or otherwise) for repairs....at what rate? etc...etc...

Personally, my baseline comparison comes down to my cash on cash returns (or how much cash I make divided by how much cash I put down).  It helps me compare apples to apples given my personal operating assumptions.  

In my opinion, CAP rates and NOI are a great way to compare properties to each other you're when doing business with other investors, but Cash on Cash is a great way to see how one property will perform for your personal operating assumptions, compared to the next.

Free eBook from BiggerPockets!

Ultimate Beginner's Guide Book Cover