Is it safe or a good idea to buy from BP members?

10 Replies

I'm very new to BP and real estate in general and I'm finding it very nice but odd to me that I'm getting contacted by so many nice people offering advice. I appreciate all of it knowing how valuable people's time is but at the same time there seems to always be an agenda. I have no problem with that but I'm leery. 

Has anyone here ever bought from someone on BP? If this happens all the time I'm sure there are horror stories but is it generally a nice transaction with everybody staying friends? 

What are peoples thoughts???

hey @Jeb Brilliant,

I've been lurking around the forums, I believe there are people in the BP that do solid deals and contract out work that work well. I've read some horror stories as well, but ultimately its up to you to do the analysis and due diligence (that is vague). As much as people want to help others there will always be a bias, and more often than not most times advice or "referrals" get them a nice "cut". If you know what I mean? 

Love the BP community lots of great people who share their experience the good and bad. 

-Aaron 

@Jeb Brilliant , I have done business with several people who are on BP. I did not meet any of those people on BP. However, they are ethical, knowledgeable and I would be happy to do business with most of them again. I do know some people on BP who I would not do business with. Like any other media you must screen your results.

For instance: when I looked up your profile under "experience" you wrote "I have no real estate experience". Yet you label yourself as a "real estate investor" whose occupations are: SFR investor, residential landlord, landlord and real estate investor. I would be very leery of doing business with anyone if I found a similar mis match between their description of themselves and their actual experience.