Investing in real estate from afar? Successes? Mistakes?

7 Replies

Hi,

I live in Hawaii and would like to invest in Oregon, preferably buy and hold. I'm just getting started and Hawaii (so far) seems to be a tough place to get started (unless you have a lot of money).

So, I'm learning as much as I can about the possibilities and impossibilities of doing this and thinking about niches and business plans to get started. If you have stories to share, advice, mistakes, or successes for my encouragement, I'd love to hear them.

Thanks in advance!

-Brooke

Hi Brooke,

I have a long distance rental and also just sold a long distance rental. I'll say, one of them was a big pain because the management wasn't very good and I had to travel there twice and should have been 4 or 5 times but I held off because of the cost and inconvenience. 

The other place, I did the final walk through when I purchased it and haven't been back in 5 years. That one has good management in place so they deal with everything.

Moral of the story is if you have great management, it may not matter where you buy. But be prepared to travel if things go south. Which makes it a lot more of a headache and costly to do.

Good luck.

Allen

in my opinion, being the your first property, i'd stay close to home.

you WILL make mistakes and it WILL cost you on your first property. It's just the nature of learning the business. We all went through that ( and keep learning everyday)

I'm not saying it's impossible. It is and has been done before, it's just a matter of trust, team and systems. 

You must be able to identify a team that can handle the management on your behalf that you can fully trust and has great systems in place. 

Trying to find a plumber to show up at 2AM when the tenant is calling panicking that the water heater is leaking all over the basement is very hard in your own are let alone thousands of miles away...

Just my .02