Skip to content
Buying & Selling Real Estate

User Stats

Votes
LaRon Phillips
  • Chicago, IL
Votes |
Need advice on feasible real estate strategies to live in 2 cities (Chicago & LA)

LaRon Phillips
  • Chicago, IL
Posted Jun 21 2015, 19:46

Greetings BP'ers!

I have a job opportunity that would require me to spend 6-9 months in Chicago and 3-6 months in LA. I’m based here in Chicago and I’m currently renting a 1BR/1BA condo (south loop) and I’m pretty much prepared to buy my first home financially once my lease ends in January.  However with the job opportunity I’m trying how to figure out the best way to manage this while splitting time between 2 cities. Obviously, I don’t want to buy a place that I can’t rent out when I’m away and end up a situation where I’m paying double rent/mortgage during that time. I’m a real estate newbie but here are two of the ideas that I’ve been mulling over. First world problems I know…lol. But any advice/experience is greatly appreciated! Thanks BP’ers!

1) SHORT TERM/FURNISHED RENTALS IN BOTH LOCATIONS

This would be the path of least resistance I suppose but obviously this would pretty much eliminate the opportunity to buy property in Chicago. And buying property in LA? Forget about it! lol.

2) BUYING PROPERTY IN CHICAGO AND SHORT TERM/FURNISHED RENTAL IN LA