"7 years to 7 figures" in Canada?

5 Replies

So I have been looking for a Fourplex property but I cannot find a fourplex for less than $400,000. I have only been looking for like a week and I am new to real estate as well so I may be looking in the wrong websites or I'm just being to impatient but I find it hard to believe that I will be able to ever find a fourplex for $300,000 less than the average if I can't find even 1 listing less than $400,000 in a week. So I was wondering if the "7 years to 7 figures" property investment model is at all viable in canada or does it just work in the United States?

@Amadeus Hladun

Welcome to BP ... depending on what you mean by 7-figures (equity, revenue, cash-flow, etc) it is possible in Canada ... though probably easier on this side of the country.

One of the best skills you can develop as a real estate investor is patience.   A week is not a long time.  It has been almost 2-years since we last purchased a property ... simply because we cannot find anything priced such that the numbers make business sense.

You should take a little longer to get to know the local market and establish an understanding of the price points at which residential properties are currently selling. If you are looking on MLS, be advised that this is the season of hopeful pricing (spring summer).

Finally, if you see a property of interest, gather the information and carry out your analysis.  If you analysis says the property is only worth X, then decide if you wish to offer X, else move on to the next potential deal.

I really appreciate the input! :)
I already kind of knew I was just being to impatient.

But have you read the "7 years to 7 figures" ebook? and if you have is it still a viable model to follow even though I am not in the US (just like yourself) ?

Because I know that houses are more expensive in general in canada even after accounting for the currency exchange