Red flag!?

8 Replies

in a dilemma and in need of some BP community feedback. 

I'm searching for my first investment property and found a duplex that I'm very very interested in listed the low 100k's. I put in an offer 20k below listing to feel out the sellers motivation with contingencies based on an inspection. I received a counter offer today as expected but there was a big caveat. 

In the counter, the buyer demands use of MAR As-Is Addendum option (A). This in essence states that if accepted, the property is sold as is and that an inspection cannot be a condition of the sale. 

This was a huge red flag to me because this isn't a rehab in a war zone that you might expect to see an addendum as such. To me, it feels like the seller has something to hide but I have very little (basically none) experience in real estate so I'm relying on intuition. At the same time, I don't want to pass up on what may be a great investment. BP, what are your thoughts?

Joe 

You could be right. If you're uncomfortable with it, skip the deal. Something else will come along.  

Ask the seller if you can do an inspection prior to putting in an offer.  Maybe they just don't want to be given the runaround by experienced buyers who put a property under contract at a satisfactory price, then try to nickel and dime the seller down to a low price after inspection.

There's a house locally that has been under contract twice in the last month and gone back up for sale.  Now, the seller has a note saying inspections must be done prior to putting in an offer.  Maybe your seller is thinking the same way?  

BTW, was the counteroffer a price you feel comfortable with?  If so, don't abandon the opportunity yet, until you know for sure.

Originally posted by @Randy E. :