Am I getting in over my head?!?

4 Replies

Help!

I am a newb when it comes to real estate investing. A family member came to me recently, knowing that I am looking to get into REI. He is selling a property in a rural area about an hour and a half northwest of Detroit. This property is on 10 acres and has two duplexes on it. His original plan was to develop the other 8 or so acres, but is getting older now and doesn't want to put in the effort of developing the properties. Here are some numbers on it,

Revenues:

Two upper units rent: $710/month

Two lower units rent: $660/month

Each unit has an external garage that rent: $50/month

Total - $2940/month

Expenses:

Taxes: $6140/year

Insurance: $1200/year

Utilities:

Well and septic.

Electric, propane gas and cable (available @ tenant's expense)

It was completely renovated in 2001. New roofs, new windows, new 90% efficiency propane forced air furnaces, new sinks and counter-tops and new carpet throughout.

Sale price: $275,000

Land contract available, with appx. 40% down

Is this something I should look into? Are there other figures that I should know about?

Thanks,

Steve 

A couple things to keep in mind is sometimes there are hidden expenses with septic systems that can cost 10's of thousands of dollars.  You definitely want to make sure that gets inspected before you even consider it.  

Growing up in my neighborhood we had well and septic as well.  The next door neighbor put their house on the market.  Because the septic system was out of date they had to completely update the septic system for the tune of 40k!  Now I'm not saying they are bad at all.  But you will need to see what the city regulations are.  My dad has to get his septic pumped every year per the city ordinance.  That runs about 400-500.  Every city and state is different though.

Do you know what year the property was built?

This is a rough estimate but it looks like it should cash flow.

2900- rent

1300 mortgage

232- Vacancy