Is this really a deal or not?

16 Replies

I am a hesitant newbie from california and boy am I scary to loose my ***. Need some help here.   I found a property in Menifee Ca. It has several advantages. It is very close to the contractor I am working with and in a nice neighborhood. The home has been vacant for 7 years and now it is a short sale. The asking price is 220,00 It's a 2bd/2bath with 1255 sq. ft. I offered 187,000 and yes I know that is more than the 70% rule but I feel I continuely get out bid because I am bidding too low and then don't get another chance. although the residence is missing an air conditioner and furnace, the property is in very good shape. The Landscaping needs a total revamp. As does exterior paint and facia.

The loan I have gotten approval on bothers me a bit. It is for 200,000 with 25% down for 3 0r 5 years with 10.99-11.25 interest rate. Yikes. So I come in with 50,000, the mortgage would be 1450 and I pay 4-6 points. Now if I don't want a prepayment penalty then I can buy that by paying 1 more point. I hope I am presenting this correctly. Somehow this does not seem like a great deal. but what if it's all I can get?

I would be hesitant to make this purchase. Do you intend to buy and hold, or flip? With repairs, your total costs will be close to $200K. I know the area somewhat and if you intend to buy and hold you are unlikely to be able to get even 1% (2,000/mo.) for rent. So you will likely lose money every month. I'd recommend using the BP calculator to identify all of your costs.

Yes you need to spell out all the costs. The Renovation costs. The Insurance, The Taxes the Principal and Interest and any utilities you will be paying. The Holding costs. You need to know the comp on the rents if you are holding and if you are flipping you need to now the ARV

Spell them out so you can get an opinion on the buy   

This post has been removed.

Ms. Elizabeth: