Should I Sign "Exclusive Right to Represent Buyer Agreement"?

22 Replies

Newbie Here,

Just got off the phone with an agent who says that in the state of Virginia it is required to have a signed "Exclusive Right to Represent Buyer Agreement" before he shows me any homes. Now I have no problem with loyalty, but this doesn't sound like either a true statement or a good idea if I'm looking at properties from all sources including non MLS.

Any words of advice or experience with realtors in this type of situation.  I looked, but didn't find anything that said they are required in Virginia either?  Anybody know how this would work if I were to sign and then buy from a wholesaler or private owner? 

It's up to you if you want to sign or not. Don't be surprised if a broker does not want to work with you, though. Their (the broker's) model is to show listed homes. As you know, they are trying to protect their time in you. If you buy an unlisted property, you will want an exemption from the broker's contract... not sure if their form allows for such thing, but the VAR form has an "Other Provisions" section where you can define your common ground for working together (e.g. only listed property).  

That sounds a little fishy to me.

I don't work with clients that use multiple Realtors but I would never make a buyer client sign one of those things. I think that exclusive Realtor/Client relationship should be built on trust.

@Chase Schmidt As to whether it is required by law, it is actually a gray area.  I am a licensed agent in Maryland, DC, Virginia (And Massachusetts). In the DMV jurisdictions, there are some that believe that it is actually required by law.  I disagree with those that assert it, but there are very legitimate people whose reading of the law say it is required.