Real estate planning/goals. Are rentals the way to go?

8 Replies

Hello!  Looking for any input on some general questions...

Some quick real estate background on me.

I have one rental property 90k in equity, zillow estimate of home value is 200k and about the same in equity in my current home, zillow estimate 290k.  I plan on renting out my current sf home and my girlfriends sf home  (She has about 90k equity in her home as well.  She has 10yrs left on her 15 yr mortgage.  This house is valued at 189k.  Then we would buy a new sf to live in soon (we are engaged and plan on getting married in a yr or two).

My real estate goals are not based on instant money now but on long term goals 15-20 yrs from now.  I am 31, I work as an electrican making 70k a yr.  Being a sparky is a great career w/ great fringe benifits but like most of us I want off of the hamster wheel.  I don't see that happening in the near future due being a fulltime single dad of two children and needing that expensive Healthcare and somewhat reliable income my career provides.  

My questions are...

-how does the bigger pockets community look at rentals? My goal is to accumulate as many rentals as possible, 15 yrs from now my kids will be out of high school and then I would like to make the leap from being an employee to fulltime real estate investor/property manager.

Thoughts on using equity to accumulate more rentals ot just have 4-5 sf rentals and pay them off as soon as possible?

Single family homes or small apartments?

Should I constantly be doing a 1031 exchange to keep climbing the real estate ladder?

Or since life is so busy take the equity and invest it, have no management and maintenance head aches?

Has anyone started a lawn care business to cater to their rentals?

My goals are realistic, I'm looking for a way to gain passive income 15 yrs from now and get out of the 7-4 monday-friday grind.