Buy and Hold Purchases - Seasonal?

2 Replies

All,

I would love a little advice please.

I had a deal fall through and am now looking for another one but in the back of my head, I am a little concerned with trying to rent something in November/December because of the weather. If I were to put a contract on something in the next couple weeks, I wouldn't close until late October, and surely I will need to do some repairs based on how I want to buy something. This puts me into November/December before having it available. With it usually being very cold in December here in Kansas, plus the Holiday season, it concerns me. Is this something I should even be concerned about or is it a valid concern? Would you wait until December to put a contract on something so it would be rent ready in January or February instead?

Thank yo so much for your feedback. I'm a newbie and it means a lot for experienced investors to be willing to help a brother out.

- Roger

Not sure how many rehabs you've done, but you might be fine on the timeline you outlined due to the rehab taking more time than you are budgeting.  

My experience around the holiday time finding tenants --  once you get a week or two out from Thanksgiving to New Years - you'll have potential Tenants call you - however the qualified ones are far and few between.   I dont think most folks want to move during the holidays.

I'd count on vacancy expense until at least Jan-February unless you are willing to put anyone with a pulse in your unit.  One other thing to take into account expense wise is heating of course depending on how bad the winter is - you'll also need to crank it up if you are doing any repairs (painting/drywall etc) as well.  

With anything it's a roll of the dice on the weather, could be 70 all the way to January, or in the teens the whole time.