New Jersey rental property questions

2 Replies

I am new to Real Estate but have been doing equations on properties since I was around 14 years old. Every since we took a family vacation to Myrtle Beach, South Carolina; my Dad explained to me how this worked it really amazed me. I am a bit obsessed with finding properties and doing math to see my cash flow and how quick I could pay off a mortgage. Anyway I am now 20 years old with a steady job, I have been saving my money for 3 years and will graduate college this May. I am looking to purchase my first property before this upcoming summer and have a few questions hopefully I can get insight on. 

1. How do you know the property will be rented? Single families scare me, I foresee them being tougher to rent for some reason. There must be a risk, but I see these single families as being more risky as I see them open for renters much more often then a multi family unit.

2. Is it allowed to use an FHA loan and have tenants live in your home with in the first year? I have heard of people doing this, which seems illegal to me.

3. Good or bad idea to buy first rental property off of the MLS? I see cap rates between 8 and 11 percent on most.

@Kyle Pelech  

Hi Kyle, and welcome to Bigger Pockets! You've become a part of the most informative website in Real Estate. I bought my first property at 21 years old. It was a single family in Ewing, NJ which is currently rented out to college students. You find as you look around and get to know the markets that some areas are in high demand of rentals and others are simply not. There are a bunch of variables that go into the equation. Far more variables than I would be able to explain to you over this brief post.