Wholesaling Houses in Canada

6 Replies

I am an American, thinking about moving to

Canada for a few months at first , to see how it suits me. (We are allowed to stay for 6 months at a time in Canada).

I am a beginner a Wholesaling here in the US, I've done 2 deals so far. My question is, after reading these posts that Wholesaling is not big in Canada, Are you still able to find Wholesale deals on the Ontario province ? How difficult can it be ? I am surprised that Wholesaling is not big in Canada!

Originally posted by @Syed Zaidi :

I am an American, thinking about moving to

Canada for a few months at first , to see how it suits me. (We are allowed to stay for 6 months at a time in Canada).

I am a beginner a Wholesaling here in the US, I've done 2 deals so far. My question is, after reading these posts that Wholesaling is not big in Canada, Are you still able to find Wholesale deals on the Ontario province ? How difficult can it be ? I am surprised that Wholesaling is not big in Canada!

Syed:

Here are a few reasons:

• population of Canada is about the same as the state of California;
  • mortgage arrears in Canada are historically <0.5%, defaults are <0.30%;
  • Canadians are generally well condition to use a real estate agent;
  • privacy laws in Canada are more rigorous - so things such as foreclosure lists, probate lists, delinquency lists are difficult to compose and, in most cases, illegal to sell;
  • financing regulations are different and lenders have an obligation to seek the best return on the sale of a property (particularly in provinces which use power of sale - such as Ontario) and, for that reason, will list properties with a real estate broker (on MLS).

Hello Roy,