Buying near a University

12 Replies

Hi all,

I'm new to REI and I am considering purchasing a multifamily property with an FHA loan. I am not sure what location I should be looking in, but there is a local university here. What would be a better investment, buying near a university or in a higher income family-based area? Would there be more upkeeping to do on a university property because these are college kids? Not really sure where to start looking so any advice/opinions would be helpful. Thanks in advance!

(Update: Just realized as I was re-reading this that with an FHA loan I would have to live in the property. I will have to consider that I would be living with college students in this case. Something to think about...)

Hi @Sue Anne Cho ,

I think investing in a college area is great. I am a new investor and that is my ideal location. I'm no expert and this is just my opinion from my own research. Having the ability to market to college students looking to move off campus is great for a rental property. The only exception is the high turnover and possibility of property damage. It will take a creative lease to address the issues, but I think it's an awesome strategy. I also know that it's competitive. A lot of long-time investors and homeowners have been holding these properties for some time now and will probably do so for some time to come. I'll be there when someone is ready to sell!

On the flip side with high-income family based rentals, you'll get a tenant for a much longer term. I think turnover rates will just depend on the area and the current state of the market. I think having to live in the property is something to think about especially if you have a family to look after. I think if you're single and looking to own a home and get benefits that come with it, there's not much else to consider!

Good luck! I hope this helps.