Most Newbie Question- What are the components of a mortgage?

14 Replies

?: What are the components of a mortgage, is it only interest, principal, tax and insurance? How do I reduce each one of these costs? Does anyone have any strategies they can share? Any Oklahoma based strategies?

Hey everyone out there in BP-land,

I am a total newbie at real estate investing, and I am about to start shopping for my first home. I want to own a primary residence that I can live and flip over the course of two years. In this time, my goal is to, use buy-hold (BRRR) and buy-flip in my area until I have the ability to pay of my primary residence.
I kind of see owning a home free and clear for the wife and kids to live in as my first challenge as a real estate investor.

So, to that end, does anyone have any solid or creative strategies for reducing the four costs that comprise your monthly payments? 

I should add that we are going to buy our first house on a VA loan, we are trying to raise the 20% to eliminate PMI right now, we are looking right now to purchase a home between 70-90k.

Thanks for your time and attention, I appreciate any advice that is out there!

-Alex 

@Alexander Ray not sure I understand what you are asking really...? In order to reduce costs, you can obviously do work on the property itself, or when purchasing the property try and negotiate on the price/closing costs with your realtor. A mortgage is made up of what is called PITI which is principle interest taxes and insurance.

Well, you could pay your insurance & taxes yourself, which would negate that part of the monthly payment, but would only mean you'd have a balloon cost at some time during the year. In other words, it doesn't save you any money, but does allow you to allocate your funds a little better than being locked into a larger mandatory payment.