Flooded Houses in Louisiana

12 Replies

Hi BP community!  Just looking to get a little help on flooded houses in Baton Rouge and surrounding areas.  I've been presented with 2 really good opportunities on flooded homes that took on 7' of water but I think I can get them at really low prices.   My question is would investors be interested in flooded homes that took on this much water or should I pass on them.  Repairs on both of them are well below 50% of the homes value.  

I welcome any advice on what to do with these 2 properties!

I'm no expert on this, but just some thoughts as a landlord and property owner.  Water damage sucks.  If not taken care of reasonably quickly bad things start to happen.  Everything starts to mold.  My guess would be that all drywall and plaster has to be removed down to the studs.  My understanding is that drywall is food for mold(at least the toxic black mold).  Anything made of cellulose is food.  So that's rugs,   I think eating wood is a bit harder for the mold, but you may have to replace studs too.  At the very least a power wash and bleach to clean them up.  So you're probably talking about knocking it all down to the frame if not to the foundation.  Now based on my knowledge of flooded cars, i'd guess that all electronics are dead too.  Hvac is probably dead from being submerged.  Water heater is probably gone too.

Personally, I wouldn't touch this type of deal unless I could get it at a price not much more than the land. It's probably a rebuild or a near rebuild. Foundation might be ok. The thing is, if it usually costs more to build new than to buy existing in your area, this might not be a great deal. I have a hard time believing that it is going to cost less than 50% of the ARV to repair it.