Buying 2 to 4 properties at the same time

11 Replies

Hi follow bigger pocketers! 

I have found several buildings that I would like to purchase but my big question is how to finance it. This is my first investment purchase on paper (I own but not on mortgage) and I am a real estate agent. I have waited 2yrs so I can show steady income and I'm ready to jump in head first. I could be purchasing 2 or 4 properties that all close to each other. They are all good investments on paper (used the rental calculator) and 2 of them already have good tenants in place. These buildings are not owned by the same person (although two are under one owner). 

The prices vary from $80k-$175k (ideal purchase price so my numbers work). 

My big question is how to finance it. Use individualized conventional mortgages and take advantage of the great interest rates or use a commercial loan to wrap all the properties together but risk refinancing in 5yrs? Any and all help on this would be greatly appreciated!

How many units are in these buildings ?  That determines residential or commercial financing.  Kind of also sounds like you're trying to bite off more than you can chew for your first deal. Buy one property first and see how it goes.

@Account Closed There are 2 units in each of these buildings with "in-law" garden units. From what my lender tells me is we can group all of the properties together and that would result in the possibility of using a commercial loan. Might be best to do individualized conventional loans though...that's the big question. 

I have managed 3 investment properties in the area and I'm confident that I'll be good to go if the numbers pan out. I am going to look at the properties tomorrow I haven't seen them yet. I have spoken to the agents pretty thoroughly.

Good luck. Do your own due diligence and crunch your own numbers.  Don't rely on info from others.