Using VA home loan for first property

9 Replies

Hello everyone! 

My name is Kaylyn and I am very new to BiggerPockets. However, I think I have a pretty good sense of what is going on and how I can dive into this. I am currently 5 months out from EASing from the Marine Corps with the plan of attending college in Colorado Springs. I am planning to use the VA home loan to purchase my first home that I will live in while being a student at UCCS, however, I definitely want to rent it out after. Anyone in the local area that may be able to give me good suggestions on where to look? Good areas of purchase so it would be most appealing to a future resident? Or really just where to begin at all. I've never bought a home so I've never used the VA home loan. If anyone has anything for me, I'd greatly appreciate it!

Hi Kaylyn. I'm a Veteran and have definitely used the VA loan however, I'm in Michigan so I don't know how much I can be with your local area. A few things to consider with VA loan though, remember that the VA itself does not issue the loan, instead you will still have to find a VA friendly lender. The VA loan can be used with 0% down, don't let anyone tell you different, there may however be loan and closing fees. If you have disability however much, even 0% --- your closing and loan fees can be waived. You can use your VA loan to purchase a property of 1-4 units so long as you life in one of them. Personally, if you are looking to use it as an investment property, I would go with the a fourplex, live in one while you go to college and rent out the other three. Then when you move out you can rent out the fourth.