What do you think about this deal?

9 Replies

I'm a newbie to investing, and I think I've found a decent deal that has huge potential, but the cash on cash ROI is only 7.51%. So, I wanted to ask the board for an opinion on this deal.

Summary:

• Condominium
  • Purchase price 75k
  • 1 bed 1 bath
  • 612 sqft with an 70 additional sqft (non-heated) sun room area
  • Built in 1975, but in great shape
  • Located in Charlotte NC
  • Neighborhood on the rise (1.2 million dollar homes, and 800k+ million dollar homes for sale and being built on the same street
  • School district all 9's

Financing options:

• 30 year fixed at 5.5%
  • 10 yr ARM at 4%

Numbers below. Would you make this deal?

Just looking at your numbers, it seems kind of light to me. Vacancy budget 3%, and no management fees (assuming self management); and you're cash flowing less than $150 a month. Also, how accurate is the HOA fee? Condos I'm familiar with would be almost twice that.

Yes, going to manage it myself, given this will be my only property for now. The HOA fee is solid - confirmed with HOA company.

If I went with the 10 yr ARM, I could drop the interest on the loan to 4%, which would increase my COC ROI, but then I'd need to refinance in the future. Thoughts?

I'd stay with the 30 year fixed (less variables and more predictable for future costs).  But I'm sure you'll get different answers depending on who you ask.

Did you confirm the type of loan you're getting??

If majority are Investors in Complex and not Owners Occupied Property may not qualify for Fix Conventional Loan.

I own 2 Condos in Charlotte, I can assure you HOA's will go up and theres nothing you can do about it.. The question is when and how much....

Not trying to discourage you, I do agree Condos can be a good start for an Investor like it was for me..

Remember for 1BRs, school district won't matter much because your tenant will most likely not be a family.

Are you being conservative with Rent, $850??