Oldest home you’ve bought

15 Replies

I’m fairly new to real estate and I see many times that investors have a limit as to how old their homes are, some say none before 1950 and some say other years. I’m wondering if anyone can explain to me why investors do this? Is their a reason they only buy a home 1950 and newer? 

And what is the oldest home you have bought in the past? 

Thanks!

Early 1700s, though we have several from the mid- to late- 1800s - the age range of building stock will vary greatly depending on where you are located.  

When I worked in Europe, I rented a "cottage" dating from the 15th century.

i think the motivation stems from a couple items. First, i think older often implies it will need more work in the form of updating and sometimes just for safety/code. The other reason that I can think of is insurance. I know an investor who purchased a recently remodeled older home that is now paying a lot more in isurance than he anticipated because the basement is original. I dont know or understand the details of that one, but his story definately has me looming harder at basements...

@Roy N. That’s pretty old lol never heard of anyone taking on properties that old but that’s pretty neat!

@Noah Wood this can definitely be a regional decision.  What I mean is that here in Texas we have pretty tough foundation issues in certain areas of the state.  So if you buy a home older than about 1976 here you are going to have issues with the foundation.  However, I also used to live in Rochester, New York.  Finding a home built AFTER 1976 in Rochester, NY is next to impossible.  So it certainly depends on what your regional market will allow you to invest in.  In general a brand new home won't have as many issues as an older home but in general older homes are less expensive.  Hope this helps!